Yet another newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cconwell

Original poster
Jun 9, 2006
Maumelle, Arkansas
Hey all, Craig here from sunny, humid Arkansas. I was given a Brinkmann Vertical Smoker, the low dough variety for a recent birthday. I have gotten it ready to go, complete with a nice level platform. I keep reading about MODS, and the 3-2-1 method, I can't wait to put some of this to use. I have never smoked a piece of meat, other than grilling a hamburger or steak into oblivion for the wife, who wants her meat done, well done.

Thanks for puting together a great forum, and I can only hope to contribute to the knowledge.

Craig

Welcome. I'm a relative newbie too. This forum has helped me a ton. This is also the friendliest forum. Good food and good people seem to go together. They willingly answer all my questions. What kind of smoker do you have? I have a Smoke N Grill and have made some modifcations on mine. The gourmet version is slightly different and has it's own suggested mods. I got a lot of good advice and pointers right here. If you have the Smoke N Grill a charcoal grate is highly recommended. I have read that a grate from a Smokey Joe fits good. A grate aroung 11" in diameter is what you need.

Anyway, the experts will stear you right.

Scott