Wrapping Boston Butts

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

swamp

Original poster
Mar 28, 2010
Chapin, SC
I have a relatively large smoker. I can smoke about 33 butts @ one time. I am self taught(probably like most of us). We do 2 fundraisers per year and during them, may cook up to 110 butts per fundraiser. One thing that has been a bit of a problem is the wrapping. I was told by the smoker manufacturer that wrapping them one time was sufficient (after the unwrapped smoke time). I have learned to wrap them 5 times in heavy duty foil to prevent any of the juice from leaking out. Still, I have to pay attention to any 'sizzling noises' to alert me to a 'leaker', which will direct me to take it out and wrap again.
There has got to be a better way out there! This wrapping thing is very labor intensive and still not a perfect solution. Again, our finished product is really good, but the extra wrapping takes up room in the smoker etc.
Do you guys have any suggestions? Thanks

Are you using heavy duty foil? I buy Sam's Club heavy duty foil and I usually do a single wrap and don't have any leakers.

Generally we order our supplies from PYA or SYSCO which supply restaurants around here and we do use heavy duty foil. One issue is that we are cramming so much meat in the smoker that it is easy to tear and the crimped seams etc often are vertical and not horizontal like they would be if I was only smoking 15 or so.

Do you know if anyone uses Saran Wrap in the inside with foil as the outer seal? Seems like a good idea, but don't know if it would work or not. Thanks for answering, by the way. I appreciate it.

I do not, sorry.
icon_neutral.gif