Wood questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

llmc

Original poster
Sep 19, 2009
Erie, PA
Hi everyone, I am new to all this. I am getting an electric smoker in a couple days; an Old Smokey. I have some fruit trees that need trimmed very bad and was wondering about using the wood for wood chips. The trees are apple, which I know is good, pear and plum. The plum is the kind with the dark leaves. Also, what is the best way to make the chips? Cut them up wet and then dry them, or dry them and then cut them up? I am new to all of this and very excited to get going on all of it. I am really looking forward to making some great ribs. My brother-in-law uses this smoker and has made some really great ones.

First welcome to the SMF Forum.

Fruit trees are good, cut them and let them season (Dry). Make sure the plum is the fruit baring type and not the ornamental tree...

Also be sure to stop in the Roll Call Thread and introduce yourself...

First off welcome LLMc to SMF. You'll like it here cause there are abunch of good folks here that would just love to help you out with just about anythignto do with smoking. We really like to have newbies here because they can bring in a new propective to how things are done. There's nothing like a new set of eyes to give and new way to make things that little differant to make things alittle better. So I hope you know about the Qview here.
http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/for...ad.php?t=58920
Here's a link to photobucket it's free and easy to download pictures. Then if your really new to smoking Look up the E-course.
http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/for...play.php?f=127