What to do?????

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ryanj68763

Original poster
Jan 7, 2007
I posted this in roll cal, so maybed some have read it, but I am on the fence on what to do and need help. I am worried about the gas smoker in the cold of winter, and if it will get too hot for summer sausage, and hot dogs.
"I have been smoking for 5 years or so, but just deer sausage. I currently own a MES. I have used this smoker for 2 years, and about 500lbs of sausage (plus one turkey). Well it was full of ring bolonga, and the element went out. Master built says that the electric element is non-replaceable, and that I have to buy a whole new cabinet. Well I am now thinking that I don't want to have electric smoker because in my price range the MES is the only smoker that I have found that is well liked, and I want to start doing other types of meat and can't have that element broke all the time. So my question is with a gas smoker will the sausage turn out ok at the temps that a gas smoker will stay at (200-225 from what I have been told)? If so does anyone have expierence with smoke hollow smokers at smoker would come highly rated? Also how do gas smokers work when it is windy? Any info is welcome. Thanks in advance."

I have a propane GOSM and love it. I can maintain temps from 180-350+ you can get it lower by using a needle valve but I havent purchased one yet. I Have smoked in the snow and have no problems keeping it up to temp. Good luck with your purchase