What color smoke??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

potatoc

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Aug 28, 2007
Durham, NC
Sorry to post this in roll call, but I am a newbie and did not know where to post a question like this. Where should I be posting general questions about smoking?

I understand a thin blue smoke is what is desired. Here is what I am getting. I use the Great Smokey Mountain propane smoker. I have a 6" cast iron pan that I load with chips/chunks. Smoker and pan have been seasoned. I have never cleaned anything besides grates and water dish. Once the smoke starts coming it gets pretty intense, not blue in color and comes out the seems of the door and barrels out of the top vent. I'd say it burns through the entire pan full in about 45min to 1hr in time. Temp stays very regular, chips are not catching on fire.

Does this sound normal?? Thanks, TJ

Hi TJ -

This would go in the General Discussion section or the propane sections but anyway. Try using bigger chucks and it'll last longer. Sounds like your getting to much smoke but the proof is in the flavor ... how's it taste to you? If it's bitter try less wood if it tastes good leave it alone!
icon_mrgreen.gif

My experience with my GOSM led me to do the following. I do not use the top of the cast wood box. I found that chips did just as you described. I put 1 or 2 chunks in the pan and get the correct smoke. I need to add more about every hour or so, and do that when I am basting or spraying the meat. I set the bottom air vents to minimum opening and the top vent about 50-60% open. This allows proper airflow. Hope this helps.

For future reference, there is a propane smoker section of the forum that's set up for propane smoker related questions like this one.