Well I am a newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mikedero

Original poster
Aug 30, 2008
hi all my name is Mike and I am form CT

I just picked up 2 Brinkmans charcoal smokers ECB's one at a tag sale and one brand new. and decided to leap into it. I bought 2 books and downloaded a ton of things today.

I plan on spending most of tomorrow smoking away. I bought a bunch of pork to pratice with. I am trying a fwe different things

one I put with a basic brine salt, sugar, and coke a cola

One a dry rub that I BBQ'ed with

one I will rub with mustard and dry rub

I even have a bunch of fish stripedbass and bluefish that I will try a fwe different things with. I have a culinary arts background so i came up with a few mods to some recipes.

Better yet tomorrow night I have a birthday party to go to that I plan on letting them sample what i smoked so that i can get their take on it. I tend to be a little harsh with my own cooking.

Nice site and I will post pics Monday

Welcome to SMF. If you havent already sign up for the 5 day smoking course. Its free and very handy.
Lots of great folk here with lots of info. So most of any questions yo have some1 here has the answer.

Mick

Glad ya joined us. This place is more helpful than those books ya bought (IMHO). As Mick mentioned, the free ecourse is the way to go to get the basics on getting your smoke on.

welcome. im gonna look into the coures too to see what it has to offer.

im getting ready to post my first one in a bit got pics and all. ive poped a couple of pics of stuff ive done in the past but this one is on now. this site has some awesome pics and recipies and ive only dwindled around for a week. hope to hang a hat here as well.
PDT_Armataz_01_18.gif
cool.gif