vacuum sealer question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cal1956

Master of the Pit
Original poster
Apr 14, 2015
Colorado
we were talking to a friend and mentioned that we were thinking about buying a vacuum sealer , she told us not to waste our money the one she had never worked very well and then proceeded to get it out of her storage shed and show it to us . still in the original box
it had several rolls of bags and she told to to take it home and play with it
we did , we can't find anything wrong with it and it seems to work fine
it's a
"game saver Deluxe plus" by food saver
according to the paper work that was in the box it will be 10 years old this November
whats it worth ?
and is it worth buying ?
i have never used one before and know nothing about them so i would like your opinions

I am very glad I got a food saver, they aren't considered 'top of the line' by any means, but it's going to be ten years old? Flip her a twenty if she doesn't want it and have fun. I'm not sure if the bags back then were sous vide quality, but the ones now are. I have an instant pot I can set for a certain temp and thats how I plan to reheat things. No over heating, or no losing moisture.

Maybe some one with the actual model will chime in though!

If your not turned off by the roll and bag prices, I would say get that one. I think it's a very popular model even now. I have a mid priced food saver. I like mine.

I also have a mid priced food saver, and buy the food saver bags by the roll. I like it, and i use it to seal regular plastic bags like chips and tortillas. Not vac seal, just heat to melt the bag closed. I would have no problem paying $20-25 bucks for it.

Mike