Using a Small Grill to smoke a Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Garrison.S

Original poster
Nov 9, 2020
Hello. I'm new here so I'm not entirely sure where to ask this question, so forgive me if I have misplaced it.
I'm a college student on a budget, and currently own a small drum-style charcoal grill that I primarily use on my tailgate for weekend cookouts and whatnot. I've wanted to do some smoking, as I grew up in a South Texas home with a nice ceramic smoker with all the "bells & whistles" per se. Trouble is, the grill I have is extremely small. It has two grates on it, a left and a right side. A few weeks ago I smoked a small (~6 lb after trimming, starting around 8 pounds) pork shoulder roast for pulled pork (~10 hours) as a "proof of concept" to see if it was even feasible to smoke something in a grill that small. I ended up having to check it every 15 minutes or so to add coals from a campfire nearby, as the small volume of coals (keeping the temp around 225-275) would not sustain themselves by simply feeding new fuel. Additionally, I was using a meat thermometer that I stuck into the air outflow vent because there is no thermometer included in the grill. It was a pain in the backside, but turned out beautifully. Very moist, fall apart tender, great bark. I've been itchin' for some burnt ends and brisket lately, but am concerned about the size of the grill. When I smoked the pork shoulder, I placed all of the coals on the far right close to the air intake, while the meat was placed to the far left to avoid any direct heat. The cooking area I used last time was about 12-14 inches long by 7-8 inches wide. I will have to measure when I get the time.