Turkey Sausage

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

deejaydebi

Legendary Pitmaster
Original poster
Nov 18, 2006
Connecticut
I'm thinking of substituting turkey burger for some of my beef and or pork i my sausages. I have two turkeys in the freezer so ....

When you grind the turkey meat how fine a blade would you use? It's kind of soft so I am guessing a course grind to keep it from turning to mush? I've never used ground turkey before where does the fat come from or do I just add more beef or pork fat to compensate?

Debi

Grind while the turkey is partially frozen so it wonâ€[emoji]8482[/emoji]t mush, especially if you are going to grind twice. Lots of times, when your butcher is grinding deer meat, he will add beef or pork fat (customers choice) to keep from being too lean, try some pork butt, but then you are defeating the purpose, unless you are making (lite) sausage
wink.gif

Thanks UIS.

I was told Turkey burger was better than beef and gave sausage a better texture. I can't imagine that but the texture thing could work I guess. I was also told it makes a better binder.

I usally put my meat in the freezer for a few hours to get "stiff" before I grind it. I have one of those old bolt to the table crank grinders. It clogs prety easy and mushes up if it's not fairly stiff.

Needless to say I don't make a whole lot at a time. Been thinking of getting one of those attachments for my Kitchen aid mixer that grinds meat but It may be cheaper to get a stand alone grinder.

yo d j deb
yesterday i made 2 lbs of my turkey chorizo.... its good..
i use it as breakfast sausage in patties...
but i cheated a little--
i used store bought ground turkey...

i m o -- i would do a small batch useing the thighs only..