Trying a first fatty

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

malcojester

Original poster
Aug 18, 2009
Ok guys I am going to try my first fatty and atb's today and want some opinions.

What type of meat saugsage, italian sausage, or hamburger would you suggest and also to add rub or not, and your reasons? If adding rub what type as I am a smoker newbie. I do not have a chili rack so is it ok to slice the jalopanos in half and fill with cream cheese then wrap in bacon?

Thanks in advance looking forward to answers and responses as it looks like this is a great board with lots of good info.

As for type of meat you can use so many things.
Personally I grab a chub of suasage from the store, did 2 yesterday (I'll post later) one was with Jimmy Dean seriously bold sausage and the other was with Bob Evans extra hot sausage. You can use burger in them as well but I always go for all sausage.
If you want to add a rub to the top you could do that as well, any favorite rub would work but not a big deal if you do or don't.
With the ABTs I always cut mine in half, fill with mixture and wrap with bacon but the bacon I nuke for a few second to partially cook it and then wrap that way you are sure to have the bacon come out crispy.
With the cream cheese mixture I mix in some cheddar or cheddar jack shredded cheese mix and some rub.
If you don't have a rub handy then it is perfectly fine to leave it out as well.
Hope some of this helps and good luck with the smoek.