Total Noob

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

guttermouthed

Original poster
Jun 6, 2011
I'm Jack.  Originally from San Diego, my wife and I relocated to Colorado Springs in September last year.  We have a Masterbuilt smoker, but just broke it in over the Memorial Day weekend.  To start things off; I am an amateur.  I enjoy grilling though.  I generally grill 4-5 nights a week.  The usual burgers and steaks and stuff.  No conventional smoking aside from the hotbox I throw on the grill or some chips wrapped in tinfoil.  Some other things I've smoked on the grill include; peaches and goat cheese, lasagna, meatloaf, and miscellaneous pastries and pies.  

To anybody in to this thing, I didn't get to taking pictures of my butt today, sorry.  The roast looks good too.  I did, on the other hand, underestimate the time involved in smoking it.  It looks like a 12am dinner tonight.  I have read and read every pertinent thread on this forum, and I can assure the pros here that this thing looks legit.  I've found that distracting myself with household chores and errands is saving the agony of sitting here drooling over what's calling my name from the smoker.  

Who would have thought smoking meats could become a hobby?.........  My wife didn't buy "smoking meats" as a hobby.

Welcome to SMF. Glad to see you here but I do have one question 

So why would you leave Americas Finest City for Colorado.  Nothing against my friends in Colorado but this is where the rest of the country wants to live LOL 

I don't regret it one bit.