Time Will Tell When It Comes to Turkey Breasts

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokininthewind

Original poster
Jul 15, 2008
Southeast Wyoming
Hi all. Still a newbie here in Wyoming. Today, I used my MES to smoke my first turkey breast. Since it was already injected with basting stuff I chose not to brine it, figuring it already had enough salt. Just a bit of rub, and pepper, I set the MES to an effective temp of 225*, got 'er smoking with mesquite, popped in the 6+ pound breast with a tray-full of water, and off she went.

Now, I'd already read the link at this forum for smoked turkey and knew I was well under the 12-pound suggested max for whole turkey. That link said figure 6.5 hours for 12 pounds.

Well, I'm sure glad I started this morning at 10:30. Because that thing took a full 7.5 hours to reach 168! Can someone tell me why so long? I set the MES to 231* based on the oven shelf thermometer reading of 225* at that setting.

It came out terrific after all those hours, with a telltale pink ring and moist, flavorful meat (see pic). Should I leave well enough alone or continue to wonder why it took so dang long for such a little hunk o' meat?
7ebd5f2c_vbattach19438.jpg

Well it looks juicy. Did you have a remote thermomter in it to check internals?

That does seem a bit long. I dont have an answer, sorry. I haven't done one yet, they aren't afforadable here.

Well you don't say how much it weighe other then it was way under 12 lbs.

This is from the link you referred to

"By the way... smoking turkey takes about 30-40 minutes per pound. using this calculation you can estimate what time you need to start in order for it to be done with the rest of the food. "