Thinking about competition.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokin ts bbq

Fire Starter
Original poster
Nov 25, 2015
Louisiana
Hey guys. I'm 17. I've been smoking for about 3 years now (on top of cooking inside since I was 3 years old) and I'm really refining my technique and recipes. Everybody who tries my BBQ LOVES it. I bought a little chat broil offset stick burner for my 15th birthday after trying out indirect cooking in my dad's grill. I used that up until yesterday when I got a killer deal for a MES 40 At academy for $199. Got to say that thing runs like a dream. Much more efficient and cost effective than my stick burner. And more consistent results!!

Anyways. I got my smoker. Actually 2. (the stick burner is fine. Just rusting out more and more with every use and about to fall over so I count it as. 1/2 a smoker [emoji]128514[/emoji]) and my MES. Its been my dream since I started to compete in BBQ competitions. Not anything huge like Memphis in may. Just some local/louisiana state competitions (for now) I'm wondering what all I need to get started. I know I need ice chests. A canopy. A generator for my electric pit. Some kind of pan wash station. Chairs. Tables. And maybe a small trailer if my truck and my dad's truck can't haul everything. I got a few of my best friends to agree to be on my team as well as my dad and brother. I even designed shirts for us.

Can't compete until I am 18 and the competition in my hometown is a month after my birthday. I would love to show up and try to out do some of the older guys there.

Thank y'all for your help!!

Pitmaster T. Smokin' T's BBQ

Good for you Smokin T!