• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Therm with just the poking probe

gortiz

Fire Starter
33
10
Joined Mar 20, 2006
I can only find therms at my local stores that have the probe for sticking into meat. If i were to hang this probe through one the damper vents located on the hood my smoker, would I get an accurate read? Whould this even work! Any help appreciated, doing three BB racks today!

thanks! :D
 

roksmith

Meat Mopper
OTBS Member
180
10
Joined Feb 27, 2006
I wouldn't do that...from what I read, most thermometers designed for checking meat temps don't last long measuring smoke temp..Not sure why..just what I've read.
As far as I know, the Maverick ET-73 is the only one with a probe designed to take smoker temps...I don't have one as of yet, but I'm going from what I've read online.
 

markeli

Smoke Blower
OTBS Member
98
10
Joined Feb 5, 2006
I use my pyrex digital probe to monitor the cooking temp at the rack in my smoker all the time it works quite well but it will shorten the life of the probe but I don't know by how much.
 

scott in kc

Meat Mopper
OTBS Member
220
10
Joined Feb 3, 2006
I have 4 digital therms (all AccuTemps, $5 at BigLots) that I've had for two years now. The only problem I've had with them is the leads on the probes getting smashed by heavy or tight fitting cooker doors. I had to buy 2 replacement probes last fall, the ones I pitched would still give accurate readings if you fiddled with the bruised section of the wire, the probes themselves were fine after many hours of monitoring pit temps.
 

markeli

Smoke Blower
OTBS Member
98
10
Joined Feb 5, 2006
my smoker has a foam rubber seal on the door so it does not pinch the probe leads
 

bob-bqn

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
674
10
Joined Aug 5, 2005
Scott, I bought a couple of those same thermometers from Big Lots:



One of my leads acts up occasionally and if I move the wire slightly where it connects to the probe it works fine afterwards. A minor issue when compared to the price. :)

markeli my smokers have a high-temperature silicone seal around the door which may be similar to yours. I still prefer to run the probe leads through the exhaust vent to keep them out of my way.
 

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.