"The Red" Sauce

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

pullinmypork

Original poster
Jun 28, 2013
I just read JJ's Finishing Sauce and thought I would throw one out there. I'm new to this whole thing and don't like to step on toes, but I made one a couple of months ago and cannot keep it in the house. My family and friends and co-workers are begging me for the recipe, but since they don't grill or smoke they won't see this:) If you try it and like it, please let me know. I know it is generic but I found other uses for it.

1 Cup                           Apple Cider Vinegar

1 1/2 Cup                     Ketchup

1 Tablespoon                Ground Thai Pepper(My neighbor grows it for me)

2 Teaspoon                  Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 Cup                        Brown Sugar

1 Tablespoon                Favorite Hot Sauce(I like Texas Pete)

2 Teaspoon                  Kosher Salt

Mix Well

Simmer for about 20 Min

I call it "The Red" because of the deep red color I get, plus I like the song.

I use this with my PP but like I said, I found another use for it. I was out of sauce the other day when I was making up some Spare Ribs. I pulled this out of the fridge and warmed it up on the grill. Then basted the ribs, both sides, during my low and slow every 1/2 hour until the ribs were finished. Not much to it. If you want to try it give me some insight please. Thanks for looking

I really like the flavor of ground Thai Pepper and like I said I get all I can handle. I will be getting several pepper plants from him ranging from Thai to the "Trinidad Scorpion". Maybe I'll try to make Acid Rain with that.