• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Suggestions for Regulating Temp or New Smoker?

TO19

Newbie
4
0
Joined Nov 18, 2018
Please read and offer your thoughts...maybe this will help others who are flying blind like I was. I have a Masterbuilt 30" Elec Digital Smoker. I've always "trusted" the temp settings and, honestly, had mixed results. I previously used a meat thermometer only in the meat but recently replaced / upgraded my thermometer with a 4 probe ThermPro. Smoking salmon today and have a probe each in 2 pieces of salmon and 2 probes to measure the air temp...which is the first time I've done this. What a surprise. Set the smoker for 160 and the temp shot straight up to 250. I dialed it down to 145 and the air temp slowly dropped to 155 or so. i thought I'd tweak it up to 150, hoping to maintain around 160 in the smoker. When I did it shot up to 210 before I turned it back down. What I think I'm seeing is that the Masterbuilt smoker is on full bore, or it's off and slowly dropping. Anyone else ever noticed this? I am very comfortable with the meat thermometer readings as they are very close together.

So, do I live with the run up and run down in temps? Any way to steady the temps? Or, is it time to look for a different smoker? If so, what do people recommend? Being able to reliably regulate the temp is important to me. Appreciate any feedback.
 

mike243

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
2,885
1,259
Joined Feb 25, 2018
All smokers will swing temps, most of the time it wont make a lot of difference, it can average out and you might never know the difference imo.
 

chopsaw

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
10,739
7,224
Joined Dec 14, 2013
Do the rewire and add a Auber controller .
Several threads on the subject here .
 

SKade

Meat Mopper
172
195
Joined Jul 21, 2019
Has the food been coming out alright? Like Mike said the temperature on all units will swing. If you’ve been happy with the food I wouldn’t stress over it. If it’s causing trouble that’s another thing. 160 to 250 is a huge amount. How long did the swing stay that large? I’ve also noticed keeping temps below 220 can be difficult and more prone to fluctuate. See if it has similar fluctuations at higher temperatures. A lot of devices have a delay after they turn on or off before they can switch back to try and avoid burning out. This smoker just might not be able to hang at that low of a temp.
 

Winterrider

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
4,218
2,406
Joined Sep 29, 2018
The huge swings will affect things a lot like doing fish, jerky, and sausage,( fat out). Like chopsaw chopsaw said, $150 auber PID and you will have an awesome smoker. I use my MES 40 way more than I use my RT 590 pellet.
 

olaf

Meat Mopper
291
212
Joined Sep 4, 2017
I'm not using a masterbuilt but the temp controller seems a bit touchy. A new pid would take care of these problems. Electric smokers are going to overshoot the set temp a few times before everything settles down.
 

smokerjim

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
5,669
2,664
Joined Jan 14, 2014
How long are you waiting before you adjust temps, it does take a bit for my master built 30 to dial in , it will over shoot temp then come back down, it will do this several times , over shooting less every time until it settles in ,maybe over shooting by 10 degrees. Yes I think your right that either it's on full bore or off.
 

steves8860

Fire Starter
SMF Premier Member
48
6
Joined Jun 17, 2021
Please read and offer your thoughts...maybe this will help others who are flying blind like I was. I have a Masterbuilt 30" Elec Digital Smoker. I've always "trusted" the temp settings and, honestly, had mixed results. I previously used a meat thermometer only in the meat but recently replaced / upgraded my thermometer with a 4 probe ThermPro. Smoking salmon today and have a probe each in 2 pieces of salmon and 2 probes to measure the air temp...which is the first time I've done this. What a surprise. Set the smoker for 160 and the temp shot straight up to 250. I dialed it down to 145 and the air temp slowly dropped to 155 or so. i thought I'd tweak it up to 150, hoping to maintain around 160 in the smoker. When I did it shot up to 210 before I turned it back down. What I think I'm seeing is that the Masterbuilt smoker is on full bore, or it's off and slowly dropping. Anyone else ever noticed this? I am very comfortable with the meat thermometer readings as they are very close together.

So, do I live with the run up and run down in temps? Any way to steady the temps? Or, is it time to look for a different smoker? If so, what do people recommend? Being able to reliably regulate the temp is important to me. Appreciate any feedback.
I added this. Was easy to put together
Please read and offer your thoughts...maybe this will help others who are flying blind like I was. I have a Masterbuilt 30" Elec Digital Smoker. I've always "trusted" the temp settings and, honestly, had mixed results. I previously used a meat thermometer only in the meat but recently replaced / upgraded my thermometer with a 4 probe ThermPro. Smoking salmon today and have a probe each in 2 pieces of salmon and 2 probes to measure the air temp...which is the first time I've done this. What a surprise. Set the smoker for 160 and the temp shot straight up to 250. I dialed it down to 145 and the air temp slowly dropped to 155 or so. i thought I'd tweak it up to 150, hoping to maintain around 160 in the smoker. When I did it shot up to 210 before I turned it back down. What I think I'm seeing is that the Masterbuilt smoker is on full bore, or it's off and slowly dropping. Anyone else ever noticed this? I am very comfortable with the meat thermometer readings as they are very close together.

So, do I live with the run up and run down in temps? Any way to steady the temps? Or, is it time to look for a different smoker? If so, what do people recommend? Being able to reliably regulate the temp is important to me. Appreciate any feedback.
Not sure if this will help since you have a digital one.

For my analog one I did this:


I bought this (Be careful this is the 30 amp one you'll probably want. They have a 10 amp one also and it wasn't obvious)


I bought the box he had as well off Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/your-orders/...Id=1&asin=B0002BSRIO&tag=smokingmeatforums-20

Note: I found out later that I could have gotten a braided cord instead for a few extra dollars instead of the one I got. But mine works fine.
 

Attachments

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.