Suggestions for flower pot smoker designs I drew up.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cjp87

Original poster
Aug 24, 2010
Hi all. I'm new to the smoking game (in fact, I've never had a smoker, but been a long time fan of smoked meats), and after looking into buying one for a couple days, I decided it might be worth my time to start a project in designing and building my own smoker. After reading a ton about Ugly Drums and flower pots, I decided that modifying a couple of designs I found to work together might be a successful design. 

This design is based on this  blog post, along with inspiration for an airflow system from this guy. I originally thought about using terra cotta pots, but I figured that ceramics (since they've already been fired at high temps) would be able to withstand the direct heat of lump charcoal fire without issue. Correct me if I'm wrong on that assumption, of course. 

Also, the airflow path is kindof dependent on being able to drill holes into the ceramics... is this a feasible endeavor, or will the pot break under the stress? 

Anyway, I'd appreciate any comments or suggestions on this design. I don't really have the spare money to do a hit and miss build, so I'd like to have a pretty surefire design when I buy my supplies. Feel free to correct/suggest alternatives or whatever you may have, I'm brand new at this and all open ears. 

Thanks for looking!

659804f5_CeramicSmoker.png

2387499e_DoubleCeramicSmoker.png

Hi and welcome!  Get yourself on over to Roll Call and introduce yourself.