Storing herbs what's the best way? Vote in the Poll

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

What's the best way to store herbs for later use???

• Freeze the herbs into cubes then remove and store in a freezer bag

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Use a vacum sealer and just stuff them in the freezer afterward

• Layer them in rock salt and store in an air tight container

• Store them in EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) and use later

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

lght

Meat Mopper
Original poster
May 26, 2008
Sunny Southern California
This is my first year growing herbs. I have about 8 different plants i'm growing, but a few have gone out of control! Mainly the mint, oregano, cilantro, and basil. I was reading that you can chop and freeze your basil in the other post, but the person who did the testing didn't test on using vacum sealed freezer bags?

I also have a dehidrator that I can use to make dry herbs.

So what's the best way to store them?

Vacuum sealer all the way. There are so many uses for it. I aleays smoke more than we can eat and vacuum pack meats, whatever, then freeze. You can keep stuff up to a year in some cases without loosing freshness and flavor.

You should also consider drying them and storing in airtight containers a la AB. If you want to skip straight to the point start at 2:45 into part two.

Good Eats S7E13P1: Herbal Preservation

Good Eats S7E13P2: Herbal Preservation

I kind of skipped over the dehydrating part. I do peppers every year. I prefer them dehydrayted and powdered. So, I grind them in a coffee grinder each fall and store in airtight containers. I guess you can go either way, if you prefer powder, do that. If you want something close to fresh, go vacuum sealer.

Honestly, why not do both?