Started smoking last week. Have questions.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mikedixon

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jun 21, 2009
East Tennessee
I am a new smoker. I live in East Tennessee. I have a Brinkman Pitmaster Deluxe, that I will use for the 1st time tomorrow. I also have a Charbroil upright smoker that I have only used twice, and both times was within the last 7 days. I have grilled for years, but not very seriously,and cooked very seriously, but I guess I was a little intimidated by smoking. I figured it can't hurt to try.
I just got my Pitmaster today. It is new in the box. I have it assembled, and I will season it tomorrow before I start to cook. Does any of you have any experience with this model smoker? Is there any modifications that can be done to it to make it better? I am a welder/fabricator by trade, so mods should be a breeze. I would appreciate any input.
BTW I have already smoked steaks, chicken breasts, a beef roast, and a fatty. You guys are right, that fatty is something else. Tomorrow, I am doing another fatty, salmon, and a pork roast. Wish me luck.

Good luck Mike. You found the right place to learn new things. The people on here are real helpfull and won't steer you wrong. I really learned a lot on this site and I saved a lot of learning grief. Good people here.
Dennis

Welcome to SMF.

Now that you have done fatties, the next thing to try are ABT's Just as easy and the taste is out of this world.

Good luck on the smoke and good luck on any mods you do.

Seriously you have to try some ABT's .

Welcome to the SMF. We're looking forward to Qview of some of your smokes.

Howdy neighbor.

I'm over here in Knoxville.