Spare rib help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Lambo-az

Original poster
Oct 11, 2020
Hey ya'll.

I am fairly new to smoking, and have decided on mastering the basics before I got crazy on both meat and smokers. I have a Masterbuilt Sportsman Elite XL Pellet smoker. Moved on from a dyna glo Electric that sucked.

Anyhow, last couple of racks I have done have been my best and 90% where I want them. Juicy, flavourful, perfect smoke ring. Only 1 issue, I can't seem to get the fat really rendered out. I did the classic 3-2-1 @ 225

I did a rack 3 days ago and they were as perfect as I've made, but the fat was still hanging on. Not a ton, but more than I'd like. So I did another rack yesterday and upped the temp a bit hoping to render it out, and they were way overdone even though I reduced cook times to compensate. I did 2-1-1 @ 275

So am I being nit picky and fat is part of eating ribs, or is there something I can do to get them that last 10%?

I would try cooking them a little longer , you could also turn the temp up a notch but the lower the temp the more smoke, all meat is different breeds and have different amounts of fat and spares are not normally trimmed heavy, welcome to the site

Reactions: JC in GB
Fat is a natural part of the animal and you can trim exterior fat but there is still interior fat that will render some but not all. Fat is part of the flavor experience and you can't exclude it. Enjoy the ride.

I finally mastered my ribs. I've learned to stop wraping during the cook. Sure it takes longer. Maybe 7 hrs. I also don't worry about inside temp. I start doing the bend test at about 5 hrs. When the bark cracks, they are bite off the bone cleanly done.