Sorry for posting on the wrong forum Fermenting meat

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

aquacanis

Original poster
I am an avid producer of pro biotic cabbage,   AKA Polish sauerkraut made the natural way.

Now, that being said, Sauerkraut is made from "lactobacillus" that overcomes the bad bacterial in cabbage with the use of salt.

So now can I use some lactobactilllus liquid to inoculate my sausage so it ferments?  

I hope some one can help here.  Sausage ferments seem to be very expensive.

I would think to be safe that you would need to use the specific cure/fermenting aid for your product. It may ruin your product or worse yet do you harm. Bactoferm F-RM-52 and Bactoferm F-LC have lactobactillus in them but what percentage to what you have sounds like a crap shoot ?

Thanks for the input crazymoon.  From what I have always understood about fermentation of any kind with lactobacillus is that it only can go as far as the sugars (and other bacteria foods) in the meat or vegetable your are fermenting will allow it to go, so it is pretty safe from that aspect.  Any chemists out there in the smoking world?

Sugar (dextrose) is added to the mixture to give the added lacto a jump start on the other bugs. Then it eats the sugars from the meat.

I've not heard of using kraut juice as the added lacto before.

Last edited:
I've read about guys using yoghurt to ferment sausage. I've never done it..I dont really see a problem with it as long as you achieve the desired reduction in pH. Cant speak as to the resulting flavor.

Be very careful with your experiments.... could be dangerous if there is contamination in your product.... Inevitably it might be cheaper to purchase the proper product....... Dave