So I'm just getting ready to dive into this.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mavrick813

Smoke Blower
Original poster
May 28, 2008
Hey everyone,

I'm Mike, from NJ and just getting interested in Smoking. I haven't gotten a smoker yet and am trying to decide on what to get. My Boss has a brand NIB Char Griller or something like that I can have. But.....

I was looking at the CharBroil Dual Door
http://www.charbroil.com/Consumer/Al...?ProductID=719

I know Free is always better. But if both were free which one would you guys want? And better yet, Why?

I'd like to start off on the right path here. And since I've never done Smoking before I'd like to make as few mistakes as I can. I figure biggest mistake I can make right off the bat is getting the wrong rig for my budget.

Which if I am buying it, is about $250.00

Thanks
Mike

Take the free one NIB.
You can always add another to your liking.
A wise man once told me that if someone offers you something for free take it, even if you don't want it, because next time he gives something away it might be something you really want and if he thinks you will say no he will offer it to someone else, FWIW.

hey mavrick, i have that exact grill (the not free one). I've found that using a charcoal base helps maintain a consistent heat. I'm going to practice a bit more and someday i'll work up to an all wood fire.

Welcome! My motto is "Free is for me" Get started on the free one. If you don't like it, or see something that you believe is more to your taste you can move on.

Hi Mike, I don't have either grill/smoker but am happy for anyone that wants to get into the art of smoking meat. You've come to the right place!!