Snack Sticks 101

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

nrdk

Fire Starter
Original poster
Sep 22, 2014
Cedar Rapids, IA
Shamelessly stealing this thread idea from hickorybutt  in his Smoking Sausage 101 thread, as I am completely new to considering smoking sausage or snack sticks. I typically split a side of beef with the parents, and always seem to have so much ground beef left over and no sticks left, even when getting 40 pounds of sticks to start with from the local processor.

I've done a few weeks worth of light reading on the forums here (kudos to nepas boyko driedstick dave and so many others)  and around the interwebs for some more information, however I'll be honest it's still a rather daunting task in just learning the basics and assembling the materials when compared to my typical smoke (pork butts, turkeys, chicken, ribs, or brisket) in my MES.

So here I am, hat in hands, hoping to pool some advice and leave a nice centralized beginner's guide for those looking to get started and who may run into the same issues (albeit a nice one) that I have, with more ground beef than I know what to do with.

Used the recipe found here  for the Long, Slow Smoke for Tang ala 'Nepas'.
  1. Starting Materials
    1. Jerky gun or Sausage stuffer (suggestions on type/brand or where a beginner should start?)
      1. Personally ordered the LEM Jerky Cannon with the 6" Stuffing Tube
    2. Hanging rack (seems necessary for a MES30 owner like myself, how to build/assemble one?)
      1. Hickory or Oak dowels purchased from local hardware store cut to fit smoker
    3. Casing (edible collagen casing vs natural? Supplier/store? Size for various applications?)