Smoking Kielbasa and Snack Stix

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

msuiceman

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Jul 11, 2012
SE Michigan (Royal Oak Area)
This weekend will be my first foray into smoking sausages. I have made fresh kielbasa since I was a kid, and have been smoking meats for a while, but my wife likes smoked sausage and not fresh, so here we go.

I have a masterbuilt xl smoker, which I can't get down to the 140deg start temp like a lot of folks use for sausage....

Would a straight 200deg smoke work? Of course I need to bring the temp up to 152deg+ to be safe, and that will be monitored on my maverick.

What I'm thinking is:

Day 1:

Grind/mix/stuff

Leave overnight in fridge.....

Day 2:

Smoke until 155, pull, immediately immerse in icewater. let sit for 30 minutes in icewater.

Eat a few

Vac Seal whats left.

I have a needle valve coming to see if I can get my temps even lower, I can't remember how low I could get it before... I smoke a lot of things at 225, sometimes 250, but haven't smoked anything that low before. (i have an amazen tube smoker that I will use for smoke, propane just for heat. I could even toy with lowering the propane burner so less heat is put into the cabinet.....

Basically, I'm wondering if my steps sound ok and will 200deg smoke work, or am I flirting with disaster? If there is a need for low temp smoking here, I will find a way (either needle valve, lowering burner, or getting a small electric hot plate to put in the cabinet).

Thanks for your help, sausage gurus.