Smoking 2 Pork Butts

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

drginlbc

Original poster
Mar 15, 2013
Long Beach, CA
Having a BBQ in a couple weeks and we were thinking of smoking pork butts.  I have a Masterbuilt 30" electric smoker.  I saw some butts at the store that ranged from 4-5lbs.  I was thinking of doing two in the smoker at once.

Does anyone have any tips?  How long should I plan on having these butts in the smoker?  Should I switch their positions half way through the smoke (should that matter)?  When you smoke two separate butts, does it take the same amount of time or do you need to double the time?

I plan on using a mix of hickory and apple wood chips.  I also have a nice rub I found in a book I have.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Here is some good reading... http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/135898/amazen-q-matz-product-test-results-now-available

Beyond that I can tell you if you are going to smoke between 225 and 250*F plan on 2 Hours/Lb plus a 2 hours of CYA/Rest time. Your time will be based on the heaviest Butt...You won't have to move the Butts around because they are not that picky and the MES will not be too full.You may want to add a Finishing Sauce to keep the meat moist and add flavor. Since I don't know where you are from or what you like, I will offer two. The first Recipe is on the Sweeter side, like a Kansas City style sauce. The second Recipe is a Vinegar based Finishing sauce like that used in Eastern North Carolina...JJ

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/110881/foiling-juice-chef-jimmyj

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/122319/jjs-finishing-sauce-awesome

Since this is your first post I encourage you to stop by Roll Call and give us some info on you. 

Last edited: