Smokin' newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

b harris

Original poster
Jun 23, 2015
Bakersfield, CA
Finally got a smoker from my family for Father's Day and I'm very excited! Preseasoned it and smoked a Tri-tip and some ribs Sunday evening that turned out pretty good for a first try! Especially the tri-tip. I got a Masterbuilt Pro two door gas smoker. Like I said, fairly successful first try but did have a bit of an issue keeping the temp down. Also didn't expect to have to replace the chips after an hour and a half. Any tips? I did soak them. I have read to use a cast iron skillet to prevent flaming up so I will try that next time. Figuring that's what caused the flare up and possibly that high temp. Any tips or advice for a newbie are welcome.

Welcome to the forum tons of info here. I would say your woodchips flaring up is what made your smoker run hot and id say if you have it sitting in the sun that will cause the temp to rise as well. and your smoker may not do what you want it too until you get to know it better. took me a couple of smokes to get mine where i want it.

Didn't even consider the sun factor! The instructions recommend a 10' clearance on all sides which makes it rough without being in the sun... Do you think there is a little give in that?

texas.gif
  Good afternoon and welcome to the forum, from a nice sunny day here in East Texas. Lots of great people with tons of information on just about  everything. 

Gary