Smoker Temp

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Lucas G

Original poster
Nov 30, 2020
Hi all. Newbie here. Any opinions are greatly appreciated.

I have a GMG Davy Crockett. I was having trouble with meats getting way too done, so I set up my Maverick temp probe and found that the reading just above the grates, where the probe is held, could be wildly different than my setting on the smoker, even though I was pretty careful about placing the heat shield where instructed to. I just decided to trust my Maverick going forward, and set the smoker to whatever temp was needed so my Maverick read the temp I wanted. Obviously not an ideal solution, but I'm not sold on trying to get the smoker fixed, and probably trust the Maverick more anyway.