smoker cleaning

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rogers chuck

Original poster
Mar 28, 2016
I need some advice I am new to smoking on my 2nd and better smoker (electric) how often do ya'll clean your smoker? I clean each use I run the grates through the dishwasher & wash with soap and water. then put on 275 to dry it well.

I need some advice I am new to smoking on my 2nd and better smoker (electric) how often do ya'll clean your smoker? I clean each use I run the grates through the dishwasher & wash with soap and water. then put on 275 to dry it well.
I tap mine, what falls off falls off, what stays on is part of the next cook. 

T

Don't really clean mine either, unless stuff is falling off the sides or top. Then I scrape off the loose stuff.

Just use a wire grill brush on the grates.

Al

I wire brush the grates every time. About every 3-4 cooks, I steam it out with the hose after the cook. About every 4-6 months, the CC and convection plate gets a good scraping and then steamed out and coated with oil for re-seasoning. Works for me.

I tap mine, what falls off falls off, what stays on is part of the next cook. 

T

Don't really clean mine either, unless stuff is falling off the sides or top. Then I scrape off the loose stuff.
Just use a wire grill brush on the grates.

Al

Yep that!

After smoking fish I scrub the racks and Q-mats.

I change out the foil that I wrap drip pans and diffusers after each smoke.