Smoked BBQ Sauce

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bwagoner

Original poster
Dec 22, 2009
I'm going to attempt to do ribs this weekend and have been thinking about how to do them.

I'm new to this so forgive me if this is common practice, but I haven't seen it talked about on here yet.

Has anyone used their smoker to heat up their BBQ? Does it add any type of smokey flavor to it like the smoke does for the meats? Is it worth it?

I use the smoker to keep the hot wing sauce warm between bastings. I don't baste anything with sauce while I am cooking, I set it on the side so people can add it if they wish, not a bad idea though, even for that purpose. I don't think there would be any reason to "add" smoke flavor to BBQ sauce if the meat has a good smoke flavor that is all you should need. Plus to me liquid smoke is the devil.

A lot of people add smoke flavor to their sauce, for whatever reason; I never have. Actually smoking it is far superior to using liquid smoke - at least, it holds true for everything else. It makes perfect sense for sauces that aren't being used on smoked meat. Wing sauce, pizza sauce, gravy, etc. could probably benefit from some smoke flavor.

In my opinion....properly done BBQ doesn't need much if any sauce. If you want to keep your sauce in the smoker while the ribs are cooking, I don't see any harm in it. I'd maybe put it in the last hour or so though. If it sits in there for the full cook, it'll probably cook down and the sugars in it will get all nasty in hard. But since I've never actually done it, I don't know.