Smoke Ring Conundrum

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

doughboysigep

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jan 16, 2015
Delhi, NY
So, I have been smoking for 15+ years or so and I don't think I have ever had the classic smoke ring in any of the meats I've done (brisket, roasts, butts, loin, etc.). Never had a problem with flavor or taste, just no pink ring. Am I missing something or is that "normal". I started with a Sausage Maker electric unit, but have been using MES units for past 8 years. Again, never have had a flavor issue so never really thought much about it.

Reactions: magnus
So, I have been smoking for 15+ years or so and I don't think I have ever had the classic smoke ring in any of the meats I've done (brisket, roasts, butts, loin, etc.). Never had a problem with flavor or taste, just no pink ring. Am I missing something or is that "normal". I started with a Sausage Maker electric unit, but have been using MES units for past 8 years. Again, never have had a flavor issue so never really thought much about it.
Electrics do not produce smoke rings,you need charcoal & wood.You can buy charcoal pellets and use an AMNPS or tube with some wood pellets mixed in
Richie

Reactions: magnus
I've found that if you put the meat in right out of the fridge you get a better smoke ring. I tried it on my last few smokes and it seams to work. I have always brought meat up to about room temp for the last few years and struggle with the same issue you have. Try throwing it on cold
Phil

I never had one in 8 years with my electrics, but I don't miss it, because in my opinion, a Smoke Ring is ALL SHOW !!!

Bear