Smoke Canyon Smoker Grill

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chefouellette

Original poster
May 7, 2011
I had my first crack at my new Smoke Canyon smoker tonight. I have been smoking brisket, pork loin, ribs and salmon for about 20 years. My last smoker was getting thin in the smoke box so my brother got this one as a replacement. It is hands down the worst smoker that I have used. I am not new to the art of smoking and have used several different styles of smokers over the years. I prefer the vertical smokers as they have a much larger capacity than the horizontal smokers and are easier to regulate the temperature. this smoker is imposable to bring up to temp using the side fire box and I refuse to build a secondary fire in the cocking chamber as I have seen suggested. I have been using horizontal smokers for about 10 years and have never used a secondary fire, not even in the winter. The only mods that I have ever had to make to a smoker have been heat baffles to slow down the heat or keep the fire out of the cooking chamber. It is an impressive grill but it is not a smoker. I may keep it for grilling but am going shopping tomorrow for a new smoker. The last one that I had was a Char Griller brand smoker that I purchased for around 175.00. I am getting another one like it. It looked very similar to the Smoke Hallow 40" pro pictured for sale on this website. I did however have to add a baffle to that unit to keep the fire in the fire box and out of the cooking chamber as the fire box was a little too small and the opening between the firebox and the cooking chamber was too big.