Shelter for my smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bugger

Original poster
Aug 2, 2010
I am new to the whole smoking thing so I went out an purchased a Brinkmann Smoke N Grill.  I know it's not the best but thats what I was allowed to get now (my fiance wears the pants in my house!!!)

I am trying to figure out the best and relatively cheapest way to build some kind of shelter for it, in the even of a rain storm.  I live in Florida so it rains daily.  I am scared about being in a mid smoke and having it pour down rain. 

I was suggested a pop up gazebo, which would be find for regular rain, but I wanted something that would withstand some wind and pretty harsh rain. 

I thought about builidng a wooden "box" that I could put over it in the rain, or maybe tarps or something like that. 

What do I have to worry about with either of these methods.  I am assuming that the heat from the smoke will not get hot enough to start a fire.  I would assume that as long as nothing is actually touching the smoker, I should be alright.  What is everyone's thoughts.

How does everyone else smoke during harsh weather?

Thanks

Reactions: utahdoug
First welcome to SMF glad you decided to join us. I've seen everything from an umbrella to a fancy fixed structure over smokers. Something that could be permanent would be nice but you'd have to consider your local building codes. A pop up canopy or something along those lines would work most of the time as long as its anchored down for our windy thunderstorms. Heck even a beach umbrella would work.

Some of us have a tractor shed to cook under. Me i just wheel the mes out the shed and up under the carport or front porch and smoke away.