Sausage tasted good, not plump

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kvn

Fire Starter
Original poster
Feb 20, 2021
Ok, newbie here again for sausage making. Ok, i made some sausage and the inside consistency wasn't seemed to be lacking a bit. It was soft but not really together. Any ideas?

Ok, newbie here again for sausage making. Ok, i made some sausage and the inside consistency wasn't seemed to be lacking a bit. It was soft but not really together. Any ideas?
Youwill get plenty of good answers here for sure. That said you’d fair better but putting your questions in a single thread as a sausage newbie instead of back to back separate ones.

" Soft and not together..." May be Under Mixed. To get a good firm but tender texture, that is uniformly bound and smooth. There must be Salt in the 1%+ range and making sure the meat is Cold you Mix it until it gets Sticky. At this stage you Mix some more until a uniform Paste comes together. Things are looking good the meat and fat has emulsified...So you Mix some more! Keeping the Meat Cold keeps the Meat and Fat Emulsified. If it is getting warm, stings less when you are mixing, stop and put the meat and bowl, in the Freezer for 15 to 30 minutes, while your hand warms up, get the meat out and have at it again...JJ