Sausage Starter Kit?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mikeythai

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Mar 5, 2010
Thailand
I'm still a real noob to hot smoking, but damn if I don't want to start smoking some sausage too. (insert joke here
icon_smile.gif
)

I'm planning on buying the 5 lb LEM sausage stuffer. Costs about $130 and has metal gears. The only downside I can see is the stuffing tubes are plastic.
Does anyone have a LEM unit, and do you like it?

http://www.sausagemaker.com/71200gre...ytekkutas.aspx

Gonna get that book, too.

I have a lot of Tenderquick at home, so I guess I'll need some casing too.

Can someone suggest an 'easy' sausage to start with? And what kind of casing should I order (I'm thinking about snack sticks for my first run).

The grizzly is only 85$ with shipping thats savings will pay for half of a decent grinder, I dont know why everyone says the plastic gears are a problem? they must be morons because im telling you just dont break the gears by stuffing unless your a gorilla i guess, but the gears on the grizzly can be replaced with the metal ones from lem if ever needed from what ive read on here. and the plastic tubes are fine as well i think people just like to show off lol its thick plastic and i dont see them breaking anytime soon. just my 2 cents

I think the best price on a 15 lb stuffer is Northern Tool, or Gander Mountain depending upon if either is on-sale at the time. The 15 lb'ers are more expensive, but if I had to do it over again, I would spend the extra cash if I could still get it for $179 or less with the coupon like Gander Mnt. offered around the 1st of the year/christmas.