Rib success, trimmings question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

brucebq

Original poster
May 12, 2006
Beaverton, OR (PDX)
First rib outing with my GOSM was TASTY. Ribs were Swift cryo'd spares from Costco. Used Jeff's rib rub recipe, with only a few modifications. :) Straight through 7 hour cook (not 3-2-1), mix of cherry and pecan. Last 4 hours mopped with apple juice. Tender, but not falling off the bone, juicy, and with all the flavor from the rub and the smoke, we didn't bother with sauce. Wish I had pics to share. I owe a big THANKS to the assembled knowledge on this forum.

After seeing the "how to" article on trimming spare ribs over on virtualweber, I did a full on KC trim, even removing the point. I've never done this before, but the racks just look great that way. Sure leaves a lot of scraps though. So what do you do with them? I rubbed and smoked the lot, but the scraps didn't come out as juicy and tender as the racks. Maybe these bits would benefit more from a little steaming in foil. Any other ideas?

Bruce

bruce, the scraps don't really have to cook very long. Compared to the full racks, maybe half the time or a little more, if you cooked them longer that may have caused the dryness.

What I don't enjoy as cook's treats or use for family pacifiers during the cook, I sort out the meat and toss them in the bean pot. Makes good beans great.

The trimmings are the cooks treat. "Here have a taste." when somebody asks what you are cooking. The great additive to the rest of your dishes to give the smoky flavor.