Question on Country Style Ribs

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jcurrier

Smoke Blower
Original poster
May 16, 2008
Mid Coast Maine
Would you 2-2-1 them or what? I have grilled them, but I have the time to smoke them right this weekend- How long would you go? Would you shoot for 190-210 smoker temp or opt to go up to 225?

Thanks in advance for the input-

I do mine the same as i would do ribs... 225 for 4-5 hours, most of the time foiled like in the 2-2-1, sometimes not. I really like the last batch i did unfoiled to tell you the truth, straigt up smoked naked the whole time... Great flavor, just not quite as tender.

Now I'm no expert here on country style ribs but the ones I have smoked I did it by temp and I took them to about 165* or there abouts. They arent like other ribs like spares all uniformed and all they are all diferant sizes and some have bones and some don't. So I always have smoked them by temp.
PDT_Armataz_01_12.gif

>>>Would you shoot for 190-210 smoker temp?<<<

if you do that, you'll probably end up with jerky long ebfore you have finished CSRs. you can do 225 but if it were me, i'd go up around 240-250.

i've done a bunch of these over the last couple of years and it seems to me that one has to treat them almost as a cross between spare ribs and pork shoulder. they are small like spare ribs, but the character of the meat is more like shoulder. due to their thickness i'd suggest a finsihed internal temperature of at least 175, which will give them time in a "mini-stall" to break down collagen. you could probably even go higher and end up with something close to pulled pork, if you want.