Pulled Pork Per Person Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

lowcountrygamecock

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Feb 4, 2009
Wow that's a lot of P's. Anyway, what's a good estimate for the poundage of pulled pork a single person will eat? I am very new to smoking and will be smoking a butt next weekend for my in-laws. Just wondering how I need to go to feed say 10-12 people. We'll also have some baked beans and probably another side. Any thoughts?

I would go w/ 1/2 lb pulled pork per person.
maybe lil more if ya are short on the sides.

If smoking for family and friends I figure about 1/2 lb per person. Figure a yield of 50% of raw weight. So 1/2 lb per person x 12 people = 6 lbs cooked weight which means 12 lbs of meat to start.

If you have some leftover I'm sure your guests wouldn't complain to much if ya sent them home with a little doggie bag :D

If you were doing this to make money I would suggest different amounts but when feeding family and friends I sure don't want anybody leaving hungry

1/4 to 1/3 lb per sandwich is about right. So, estimate the size of your in-laws (yeah, I know...:) ) and go from there per sammie. Remember though that you will only get about 1/2 of your starting weight on raw meat give or take depending on how much fat you "cull" out while pulling.

So, if you have 12 folks, and think that ALL of them will eat 2 sammies, and you have the big buns and they're big people, then you need 12*.33*2= 7.92 lbs of finished meat (that's based on the 1/3 lb per sammie and 2 sammies per person), and that means you should have somewhere around 7.92*2=15.84 lbs of raw butt.