Propane Smoker Suggestions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mama's smoke

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 9, 2010
Austin, TX
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie here. I've been grilling with a Weber Genesis for years and have become very interested in using a smoker. I have smoked chicken in my Weber Grill with indirect heat, but I'm ready to do more. I am considering propane smoker for several reason:
1. I'm new to this and I don't have the confidence to be adding charcoal and wood.
2. It will be within 15-20 feet of our pool, so electric is out.
3. They seem easier to maintain a constant temp.

I don't need anything large, and I don't want to spend much over $200. We don't have a Bass Pro Shop anywhere close and shipping would put me over the price. Those I've considered are the Brinkmann Vertical (I like the idea of a lower door to add wood, which seems it would release less heat) and a Masterforge.

I'm open to suggestions and appreciate your help.

You've mentioned the right reasons for going propane.I won't suggest a particular smoker, but if it's possible, buy the largest one you can. It's always better to have more room than not enough. Good luck on your selection. BTW, welcome to the SMF, you're in good company. I moved your thread to roll call so that everyone can give you a warm welcome. It's all good my friend.

You must have a Walmart nearby?
They carry the GOSM gasser for around $130.00

I've been using mine for about 4 years, and with a few modifications, I really like it.

I have the GOSM propane and I really love it. I have used mine for 5 years and have had good success. I bought mine at Walmart.

Jeffcorny2