• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

probes for digital thermometers?

lovesmokin

Newbie
2
10
Joined Feb 23, 2007
I'm sure I can't be the only one with this problem....

I've got three Acu-Rite wired probe thermometers. see pic >> http://lib.store.yahoo.net/lib/parts...648sbLarge.jpg

All three have stopped working because the probes don't give the signal any more. Probably happened when I washed them. The electronic readout part still works, but the wired probe thingy is broke.

Anybody know where I can get some spare probes for this? I've looked everywhere I can think on the internet and can't find them....

Please help!! I'm getting hungry!
 

oillogger

Meat Mopper
OTBS Member
263
12
Joined Jun 25, 2006
I only clean my temperature probes with a slightly soapy wet cloth and a little elbow grease followed by a clean wet cloth wipedown.
 

deejaydebi

Legendary Pitmaster
8,005
23
Joined Nov 18, 2006
Mine hasn't stopped but it get very erractic when the outside temps get below about 10 degrees. I think the cold upsets the batteries.




I'll stick to my dial therometer for winter!

 

smokyokie

Smoking Fanatic
977
13
Joined Sep 26, 2006
I'm tempted to think all probes are the same. I just bought a Maverick, andthe probes for it interchanged with my Taylor. Both of those mfgrs state not to submerge the probes. I've been told that alot of "kitchen gadget" stores sell probes. Maverick sells probes http://www.maverickhousewares.com/

Does Acu-rite not sell replacements?

Hope this helps you out.

Tim
 

lovesmokin

Newbie
2
10
Joined Feb 23, 2007
Oh, if the instructions say not to submerge, that must be why I missed it.

I figured the instructions said something like "turn it on, start pushing buttons, poke that sharp thing in somewhere, sit down and start watching the numbers change."

I might try a couple of the maverick probes and see what happens.

thanks
 

smokyokie

Smoking Fanatic
977
13
Joined Sep 26, 2006
Be careful not to put them directly over a c'coal fire either. I ruined one that way myself. They won't stand up to that kind of heat.

Tim
 

cajunsmoker

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
1,828
14
Joined May 21, 2006
Don't know where you got yours at, but the local WalMart sells Acu Rite thermometers for 9.95, they are the red plastic one. Probably cheaper to buy the whole thing than it is to pay shipping on a probe. I bought one and it crapped out about half way through my second smoke with it (and I didn't submerge my probe), checked and it was made in China with no instruction to reach the manufacturer. I went to Home Depot and bought a CharmGlow remote digital and I love it. Only wish it had 2 probes like the Maverick 73.
 

gunslinger

Smoking Fanatic
OTBS Member
959
11
Joined Sep 24, 2006
I have had a problem getting probes for my Taylor's. If you call Taylor, they tell you to call their distributor. What a pain.
 

smoked

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
1,009
10
Joined Dec 14, 2006
yup, that's the only way to clean them!!!!! and no most probes are not interchangable (trust me I tested on all three of mine, they are all calibrated differently).....
 

Latest posts

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.