Pork shoulder for pulled pork

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

helmrod

Original poster
I am a rookie to smoking so any help would be greatly appreciated. I have been doing a lot of research on here and have already used one of the rubs. I put the rub on and let in sit in the fridge overnight and now have it in the smoker at 235 degrees. The question I have is about spritzing and foiling. I have a Smoken It #1 so there is no water pan so do I just open the door and squirt on some orange juice as Chef Jimmy J suggested or how do I go about spritzing or is it even needed? Secondly do I foil it at around 165 IT and put it back in the smoker or is the oven fine until it reaches 195 IT? I do have a finishing sauce in mind that Chef Jimmy J also posted and it sounds awesome. I only have a cell phone for a camera so I dont know how i can get the pics onto the site.  I am not really that computer advanced to know that stuff.

The answer is, there are many ways to do it. Spritz or no spritz, it's a question of style. Neither approach will ruin the meat. But as a general rule, SHUT THE DOOR and don't lose the heat from the cooking chamber.

I have done pork shoulders both spritzing and not.  Honestly I don't think I've noticed a difference in moisture.  A pork shoulder will be really moist when cooked right.  If anything, I thought spritzing helped the bark form by keeping the exterior moist.  But as far as interior moisture, the spritzing won't make a difference IMO and just from my  experience.