• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Ishi

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
May 30, 2018
With the high price of ground beef I need to learn to make a good pork burger.My first attempt so I cut up some homemade bacon added some Cookies Flavor Enhancer.
Grilled them on the sear grates toasted the buns and add BBQ sauce the last few minutes. They were good but if anyone has ideas to share that would be great.
8AC184AE-AE26-42B8-A156-5D46153E3D08.jpeg
5CB14D1B-B5E3-4EBE-A9BB-80BFCB66D667.jpeg
4C019552-C45A-4A4A-AC67-4CB6005CF714.jpeg
BDBF5758-EE6F-4646-B12F-D6A2940B971A.jpeg
6F4BDCA1-6433-48D9-99AC-5283870F3E46.jpeg

I've been making what we call Hipshot burgers for about 15 years now, 60% beef, 40% porkbutt, and some other stuff. I buy the porkbutt when it's 99¢lb, the beef @ $2.49lb, do the math. We like these burgers better than straight ribeye run thru my grinder, the SPC makes them really juicy. Check it out and see if it's something that might work for you, we love 'em. RAY

Reactions: Ishi and ozzz
I've posted this many times, but our favorite for a long time has been the following:
50% Venison
25% Pork Butt
25% Beef (80-20)
Mix & add 3 TBS Worcestershire per pound of Meat.

Soon we might have to drop the Deer Meat, if the Wasting Disease gets into our Counties hunted. Then I'll be going back to my old recipe of 50% Beef & 50% Pork.

Bear

Reactions: Trigger01 and Ishi
Common here but don't think they are elsewhere. Brat burgers. Serve with mustard and sliced onion.