Please define "reverse flow"

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokinfireman

Original poster
May 9, 2011
Sugarcreek, Ohio
65f3a65b_smoker004.jpg
276811c7_smoker005.jpg
6307af96_smoker007.jpg
ebe190d0_smoker008.jpg
I am relatively new to the smoker clan, having only been at it for about 5 years now. I bought a CharGriller Pro back then, and have progressed to having built my own.

What I built was a 250 gal fuel oil tank, vertical stance. At the time, I had a "bright idea" to put a 1/4 inch thick plate just above the fire area in order to avoid flare up onto the meat. (My fire is directly inside the tank, not an external firebox.) It is mounted tight against the end wall over the fire, and runs to within 6 inches of the other end, with approx 4 inches of space between the plate and sides of the tank. It also doubles as a charcoal tray for regular bbq such as burgers or sausage patties. The smoke stack is on the opposite end of the fire access door. The red box is a great storage area to carry all my wood and tools.

What I did not realize at the time was how well the plate evenly dispersed the heat and smoke, and the recovery time when I open the lid. 

So what exactly is reverse flow? And could someone post pics here of the inside area showing this? Thanks in advance for your info.

Last edited:
Welcome..

This site has tons of info.

I would suggest you spend some time reading all the different forums and the WIKIs.

Then use the handy dandy search tool for specific interests!!

Have a great day!!!

Craig

On a reverse flow the stack & the firebox are on the same end. It sounds like the plate you installed is the same as you would find in a RF, only the exhaust is on the other end.