Overnight Cooking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

markg

Original poster
Jul 15, 2006
Kansas City
I never seem to quite cook my butt long enough, I guess I am just anxious. I was thinking about starting the butt late at night (around 10:00) and let it go all night.

Any problems doing this? I am a newbie to smoking so I don't have the greatest smoker but the two things I am worried the most about is safety and losing heat overnight.

I would try to get an early start instead.

Depending on the size of the meat, I will start a long smoke betweek 6:00am - 8:00am. That usually gets me through all the way to the pull by 7:00pm that same day.

Don't think I could let my GOSM go unattended...
PDT_Armataz_01_03.gif

I love allnighters.......but ya have to prepare for it!!
..............and make sure you smoke a fattie for that early breakfast!!!

MarkG, you are on the right track. Your gonna have to stay up and keep that butt company though. IMO, the all-nighter is a right of passage of sorts and should be enjoyed by all from time to time. Here is a link from your host to get you in the mood:

http://www.smoking-meat.com/brisket-smoke.html

That's about as close as you can get without doing it yourself.

Thanks for the replys, definilty some good information. I typically like to start early in the morning around 5:00ish (depending on how much I drank the night before) but when smoking the pork it takes all day. When I hit the infamous plateau, I am stuck there for several hours.