Old Luhr Jensen Little Chief - Use for Smoking Sausages?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gregr

Original poster
Oct 14, 2012
I just inhereted a 30+ year old Luhr Jensen Little Chief top loading electric smoker. It seems to work, and I'm interested in smoking sausages. Will this smoker work ok for sausages? Should I do some sort of check to see what temp it gets to before using? It was only ever used for fish....and I'm a noob at smoking, so not sure if there are special requirements for sausage.

This looks to be a newer version of the smoker I inherited: http://www.vanceoutdoors.com/products2.cfm/ID/31454

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
greg, morning.... Tons of great smoked food came out of the early smoker like that....  Plug it in and with a calibrated therm, check the temp... It may have a strong fish odor that a thorough cleaning should remove...  If the temp will get to 160 or so, you are good to go....  At times they needed an insulation layer to get the temps up... a welding blanket will do the job nicely....   Be sure to follow a good recipe that incorporates cure# 1 for safety reasons....  Think about getting a grams scale that maxes out at about 500 grams for accurate weighing... they are about $20 and well worth the price for safety and adding spices for consistent recipes and flavors....  

Oh yeah, welcome to the forum....   Great members sharing recipes and their wealth of knowledge...    enjoy the long smokey ride....   Dave