Newby from South Africa

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by saffer2005, Sep 23, 2008.

1. Hi all SMF members,
    I am a complete beginner - meat smoking is not that popular down here, but with all the fantastic info on this forum one can't go wrong!
    I've used a stainless steel s/pool filter, which I hope I can use as bbq & smoker.
    I have arranged series of pullys & s/steel wire to lower or lift the fire grate by turning & locking at the required height. will be experimenting this week end!
    [​IMG]

Cheers !
    [email protected]

2. You got to post pictures of this contraption - sounds amazing :)

3. wutang

wutang Smoking Fanatic OTBS Member

Sounds interesting-you have to post some pictures of that setup. I would like to see it. Welcome to smf.

4. waysideranch

waysideranch Master of the Pit OTBS Member SMF Premier Member

Welcome Saffer. Ditto here on the pics. I want to see some wild game. Need pulleys when lowering in a water buffalo hind quarter?

5. solar

solar Smoking Fanatic SMF Premier Member

Welcome, the information on this site is great, you should be able to make some great smoked meats. [​IMG]

If I understand correctly, you're converting a stainless steel sand filter into a smoker? Sounds like your going to put some time into it, take some pictures and post them once it's done.

6. pineywoods

pineywoods Smoking Guru Staff Member Administrator Group Lead SMF Premier Member

Welcome to SMF glad you joined us. You'll find lots of info here and some pretty darn good recipes as well. I would suggest signing up for Jeff's 5 Day Ecourse as well it has some great info and its free. Your smoker plan sounds interesting and I look forward to some pics and info as to how it works. Have fun and happy smoking

7. okie joe

okie joe Smoking Fanatic OTBS Member SMF Premier Member