Newbie - Simple question, how long??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

buckweet

Original poster
Dec 29, 2009
Hope I'm posting this in the right forum.. I'm a newbie to smoking and have searched and searched and cannot find a direct answer.

"How long to you actually smoke for?" For example, if I have a 7lb pork butt, how long do I actually smoke vs cook it? Do I keep replenishing wood chips for the full cook time? Also how much wood should you use?

I've read that on some meats you should only smoke for a short interim of the overall process, but cannot find a good guide to any of it. I'm just lost and need some guidance.

Can anyone give me some tips?? Thanks in advance..

BuckWeet

We are your guide here. You ask and we answer the questions so to your first question. A butt smokes for differant times depending on alot of things from the weather to the wind the smoker the size and then the stall how long of one too. So then you have the resting time added in to. But a good rule of thumb is about 1.5 hours per pound. Now as far as your wood chips/chunks you replace them as you need to. Just look at the tray and if they are all burned up replace them with new and you can soak them if you want to. I don't soak them. Now I keep replacing chips all during a smoke but when I foil the meat I quite changing the wood chips. Now as far as the amount of chips just fill the chip pan and you'll be fine. So there you go for now and when you do am=smoke some meat and have a question just post it here and we will answer it too.
PDT_Armataz_01_37.gif
So go smoke something.

There is no simple answer to your questions because of so many variables.