Newbie KS

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

davidmcg

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Mar 1, 2008
McLouth, KS
Well I am a nebie to the Smoking Meat Forum, but I have been smoking meat for 20 years. I only have 1 commercial made smoker, the other one is homemade and it has been with me for 7 years. The others in the past have been donated to my 2 boys. The commercial smoker I got for free when a neighbor got rid of it. Anyhow, I do beef and pork in a real big way. I have problems with chicken, so I stay away from it. I make my own marinades and rubs. I got the basics down on them in my early years and tweak them. I live in the country outside of McLouth KS. This is the home of the annual Northeast Kansas State BBQ Championship held every year in June. Regular competitiors there include several champions from the Kansas City American Royal BBQ. I am a disabled Deputy Sheriff just looking for a job right now. I will be entering my first competiton this year, the afore mentioned one. I will attach some photos of my equipment if I can figure out how to make them smaller. I have another project in the works. I am turning 2 horizontal file cabinets into 1 cabinet smoker. I saw somebody with one of these at a competition that made some great meat.

I forgot to mention my commercial smoker is an EBS. I use charcoal, apple, cherry, hickory and mesquite. I cook in a modified version of both KC and Memphis style. Most of my meat is naked off the grill, I rarely use any sauce, but when I do I make my own. For me the one thing that will tick me off more than even not being able to do good chicken is when my wife sneaks out and either does great chicken or even worse, cooks hamburgers in the firebox portion of my barrel cooker.