Newbie here with Canadian Bacon Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

campcook

Original poster
Apr 4, 2010
Hi,
I'm new here and I'm really enjoying reading and learning. You sound like a great bunch of people.
I have a question. I purchased a pork loin with intention of making Canadian Bacon. I can't seem to find Tender Quick or Instacure #1 or anything else, so it looks like I will have to order some.
My question is this, can I freeze this pork loin and still make Canadian Bacon out of it at a later date ?
Thanks
CampCook

Welcome to the SMF CC! You are correct in that they are a great bunch that hang around here! To answer your question, you can freeze your loin (best if you have it already vacuum sealed or can seal it) prior to making your Canadian bacon, or...smoke that bad boy and enjoy it now and just buy another one when you get your cure!
PDT_Armataz_01_34.gif

Mac

Welcome to SMF glad you decided to join us. As Mac says you certainly can do that. Heres a link to where I have been ordering my cures from and they are a pretty good place to deal with

http://www.butcher-packer.com/

Did'nt see where you are from on your profile.Normally any major grocery store has Tenderquik.In the seasoning section.Usually on the shelf with the bag salt.Otherwise ditto piney b-p is a damn good company.There price on 25# hog casings is the cheapist around.If you are into that also?Hope this helps

I use Butcher Packer almost exclusively for ingredients, cures, parts'n'pieces, bacon hooks, ham hooks, stockinette, etc.! Great place! They aren't flashy and don't have a whole lot in each catagory but what they do have is what you need and want, it's the right stuff at the right price.