Newbie here: I need help for tomarrow! Silver Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jmccalip

Original poster
Jul 26, 2008
Hi, I just acquired an old rusty SS. I sanded off all the rust and then repainted the outside with high heat grill paint. I will season it later today, and then I want to try to smoke some chicken(maybe legs/thighs and some breasts) tomorrow.

However, I am totally lost on how I cook the meat...

1. Can I even use wood, or is this a charcoal only smoker?
  2. If I can use wood, Pecan or Apple?
  3. Any tips on how to set up the firebox with wood?
  4. I understand I need to keep the temp under 250, but approximately how long do I smoke for(I don't want to keep opening the lid to check).
Thanks a lot!

Welcome to SMF please stop by the roll call section and tell us a bit about yourself and your smoking experience. As for what to do I would use charcoal and lump if I could find it. The just use small chunks of wood to produce smoke you don't need much smoke it should not be billowing white smoke instead it should be thin and blue or pretty much not there if you can smell it your smoking as for temps check out this link

http://www.wyntk.us/food/smoking-tim...eratures.shtml

Also check this link

http://virtualweberbullet.com/fireup2.html#minion

Welcome JM to SMF i might can help a little bit
1. I use mostly lump charcoal and a couple of chunks of wood, Apple sounds good.
3. I use two or three lite charcoal chimney to get started and put the wood off to the one side.
4. As far a temp goes a lot of people like the skin to be cripes so the run the temp up to 300 -325. I'll do mine like that for about 1 hr. then flip them.