Newbie here, got a question.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dyehard

Original poster
Jul 2, 2007
Have any of you ever smoked a precooked ham? If so, what should the internal temp be when it is considered done since technically it is done when you put it on the smoker. Thanks in advance.

Smoking a pre-cooked ham is a path to some fine eats! It is already cooked, you are just adding that good smoky flavor. Here is some info from Jeff -

Smoked Ham
Most folks who do not cure their own hams (quite the long process by the way) will purchase a pre-cooked ham and throw it in the oven according to the directions on the package.
Well let me tell you how to take it to the next level, pop that baby in the smoker and keep it around 225 degrees and surrounded by smoke from your favorite wood for a few hours and you will have influenced the flavor of that ham in a remarkable way.
I do not think you need to take it all the way up to 160 or it may dry out too much on you but you can smoke it to around 140 or so and it will be extremely flavorful and delicious.
Make a mop out of 1 part pineapple juice and 3 parts honey and mop the ham generously every 30 minutes as it smokes.
Attach pineapple rings with toothpicks all over the ham and mop with pineapple juice every 30 minutes while it smokes.
You can do the mustard and rub (coat the ham with a thin coat of mustard and then coat it with rub)
(Smoke to temp.,140 deg.F, use remote thermometer, about 4-6 hours?)
Everyone will be asking for your smoked ham recipe even if you use a pre-cooked one.

MIKEâ€[emoji]8482[/emoji]S NOTES -